Stanton’s Eight Stages of Genocide

Posted on December 4, 2016


With us moving into WWII this week, it’s important to examine the social, political, cultural, and economic motivations and ramifications of genocide.

In a briefing paper presented to the US State Department in 1996, during the height of the conflict in Bosnia, Gregory H. Stanton presented his theory on the eight stages of genocide:

  1. Classification
  2. Symbolization
  3. Dehumanization
  4. Organization
  5. Polarization
  6. Preparation
  7. Extermination
  8. Denial

Please familiarize yourself with Staunton’s theory behind each stage (see above link) as well as Stanton’s brief. Viewing Staunton’s presentation will be helpful as well:

After reading the briefs and viewing the video, in your groups, research your assigned genocide (the Armenian Genocide, the Holocaust, Stalin’s gulags, and the ethnic cleansing of Bosnian Muslims) and prepare a presentation on how (or if) they follow Stanton’s model.